National Office Staff

The national NHD office is located at 4511 Knox Road, Suite 205, College Park, MD 20740.

Cathy Gorn, Ph.D.
Executive Director

Kim Fortney
Deputy Director
Email Kim

Lynne O’Hara
Director of Programs
Email Lynne

Amanda Hendrey
Assistant of Programs
Email Amanda

Gary Pettit
Director of Communications
Email Gary

Lorena Torres
Finance Manager
Email Lorena

Adrienne Harkness
Contest Manager
Email Adrienne

Elaine Koontz
IT Manager
Email Elaine

Erikka Washington
Office and Events Manager
Email Erikka

Board of Trustees

Linda Becker

David Behring
Wheel Foundation

Thomas Downs
Venable LLP

Lynn Fontana
Sylvan Learning

Noralee Frankel

Jon Gillum
Locke Lord LLP

Steven Goldberg
SunTrust Investment Services, Inc.

James F. Harris
University of Maryland

Julian Hipkins, III
Capitol City Charter School

Celie Neihaus

Christine Ortega
Southwest Airlines

Richard T. Prasse
Hahn, Loeser and Parks

Pat Ramsey
University of Central Arkansas

Joseph Suarez
Booz Allen Hamilton

Mark Vessey
State Capital Museum/Outreach Center

Eric Weider
Joe Weider Foundation

Jerry Whitfield

Lyric Winik

Advisory Council

Molly Berger
Case Western Reserve University

Beth Boland
National Park Service

Wendy Eagan
World History Association

John Dichtl
American Association for State and Local History

Noralee Frankel

Susan Griffin
National Council for the Social Studies

Carol Harsh
SITES-Smithsonian Institution

Justin Jakovac
National Council for History Education

Esther Mackintosh, PhD
Federation of State Humanities Councils

Maria Marable-Bunch
National Archives & Records Administration

Elisabeth M. Marsh, PhD
Organization of American Historians

Lee Ann Potter
Library of Congress

Amy Riegelman
Librarian of Government Information, Psychology, and Child Development

Dana Schaffer
American Historical Association

Philip M. Soergel
University of Maryland