Join the Alumni Network

Over the past 50 years, National History Day® (NHD) has touched the lives of millions of students. Are you one of them? If so, you can be part of our growing alumni network. NHD alumni are vital to the success and longevity of the program. They serve as judges, mentors, and supporters of the program at all contest levels.

Female alumni giving speech at a podium outside on stage

We would love to hear from you!

“NHD was an amazing experience and is something I have carried with me for years. Giving back by teaching others and volunteering to judge has been equally rewarding. I would encourage all alumni, family members, and friends who supported us to get involved in their areas to help foster the next generation of historians.”

– Amma Ghartey-Tagoe Kootin, Kansas (1996)

“My employer has a policy where every year we’re allowed to take time off for a volunteer cause. For the past 2 years, I’ve used my volunteer time off to help our local History Day events and volunteer as a judge.”

– Jonathan Lautaha, Hawaiʻi (2004–2008)

“I came back from College Park that year completely pumped. I immediately contacted the Iowa NHD coordinator, told her my story, and volunteered to do whatever I could to help the Iowa program… Clueless 22-year-old Crystal had no idea that one could actually make a career out of doing NHD, but the stars aligned for me to be hired as the Iowa coordinator about 18 months later.”

– Crystal Johnson, Iowa (1989–1992)